Ruth P. Watson Pens New Novel, “Blackberry Days Of Summer”

Comments: 0  | Leave A Comment

Ruth Watson, a former writer for the Atlanta-Journal &Constitution and Upscale magazine, has penned an impossible to put down, page-turner. Set against the backdrop of post- World War I, BLACKBERRY DAYS OF SUMMER (Strebor Books; $15; June 2012) is a compelling look at the Jim Crow era in rural Virginia.   This suspenseful tale of deceit is filled with lust, adultery, and romance.

In the tradition of The Color Purple and The Help, Watson introduces readers to Herman Camm.  As Robert Parker’s body is lowered into the grave, in Jefferson County, Virginia, Herman slithers into the life of the mourning family. Camm is a beady-eyed, small-framed womanizer with nice clothes, who has a complicated life involving three women: his wife, Mae Lou Parker; her daughter, Carrie, and a nightclub singer, Pearl Brown.

Like HelloBeautiful on Facebook to stay on top of your favorite black celebrities

BLACKBERRY DAYS OF SUMMER discusses themes, such as:

  • the importance of education in the 1920’s and what that meant for the quality of life for an African American in the South,
  • the mistreatment of African Americans in the Jim Crow era and the negligence among murder cases with African-American victims,
  • mental health concerns within the  African-American community,
  • and much more!

With BLACKBERRY DAYS OF SUMMER, Watson delivers characters that are neither good nor evil but a provocative combination of everything that makes us human. Watson is a strong writer and her talent for creating complex and fallible characters will engage readers from the very first page. Watson weaves a fascinating novel as she makes her debut on the author scene.

You can order the book on Amazon, HERE!

About the Author

Ruth P. Watson has an MSA from Central Michigan University and is currently an adjunct professor and project manager. She is the recipient of the Caversham Fellowship, an artist’s and writer’s residency in Kwa Zulu, Natal South Africa, where she published her first children’s book in Zulu, Our Secret Bond. She has written for Upscale, the Atlanta Journal-Constitution and other publications. She lives with her husband and son in Atlanta.

Wahida Clark, Releases Third Novel In Her Series “Payback Ain’t Enough”

David J. Leonard Latest Book Explores The NBA, “After Artest: The NBA & The Assault On Blackness”

Tags: » »

Comments